The Song of Hartgrove Hall

The Song of Hartgrove Hall

Large Print - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Natasha Solomons' breathtaking new novel has it all: a love triangle, family obligations, and rediscovering joy in the face of grief, all set against the alluring backdrop of an English country estate. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.
Topical Term: Jewish women
Jews
Singers
Composers
Country homes
Aristocracy (Social class)
Large type books
Domestic fiction
Romance fiction
Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, 2016
Edition: Large print edition
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9781410485229
1410485226
Branch Call Number: PR6119.O455 S66 2016
Characteristics: 601 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
large print (16 point)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
kwylie04
Jul 18, 2019

A story that is both sad and uplifting, The Song of Hartgrove Hall is a tale told in slow movements, perhaps even mirroring some of the music that is at the bedrock of the book. It starts off slow, and though you might be tempted to put it aside for something that grabs your attention more quickly, I urge you to stick with it. The story picks up, gains a faster pace, and you will be swept through the larger part of the book, only to finish it and ask how it came by so quickly.

The story alternates between the years after the Second World War and the early 2000s, looking at the lives of the Fox-Talbot family - beginning with The General and his three sons, Jack, George, and Harry (called Fox), and then looking at the family of Fox, namely that of his two daughters, and his grandson. You follow the drama of Fox falling in love with his brother Jack's wife, Edie, and the devastating betrayal that follows, and then fly ahead where we see Fox struggling to cope with life after his wife's death, and learning to live again when he begins to connect with his grandson, Robin.

Music. Family. Love. Forgiveness. You'll find it all in this book, and it's well worth the time.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LVCCLD

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top